JOINT ARRANGEMENTS

This section sets out the joint arrangements the Council has entered into with other local authorities, and is divided into the following parts:-

- Joint Committees
- Shared Services with Bromsgrove District Council
- Other arrangements

1. Joint Committees

Regulatory Services Joint Committee

A joint committee has been established of two Members from each of the following participating Councils: Bromsgrove District Council, Malvern Hills District Council, Worcester City Council, Worcestershire County Council, Wychavon District Council and Wyre Forest District Council.

The Joint Committee has provision to operate and manage Worcestershire Regulatory Services. The Council has delegated to the Joint Committee the functions set out in <u>Table 1 below</u>.

The Council has delegated to the Head of Worcestershire Regulatory Service the discharge of functions set out in Part 5, in the Officers' Scheme of Delegation for Regulatory Services.

Greater Birmingham and Solihull Local Enterprise Partnership (GBSLEP) - Joint Scrutiny Committee

The Council appoints one member to a Joint Scrutiny Committee which reviews and/or scrutinises decisions made by the GBSLEP Supervisory Board. The Joint Committee is administered by Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council.

Terms of reference of the Joint Scrutiny Committee are attached at appendix 1 to this section.

2. Shared Services with Bromsgrove District Council

In 2009 the Council agreed to the appointment of a shared Chief Executive with Bromsgrove District Council. In 2010 a shared management team for both Councils was appointed. The two Councils have agreed to work together to deliver services jointly across both Councils. The co-operation between the two Councils on sharing services is reflected by a legal agreement referred to as the Overarching Framework Agreement.

As each Council continues to be independent politically, the Scheme of Delegations for Redditch Borough Council, delegates the responsibility for making decisions from the Redditch Executive Committee and Council to the

relevant Committees and Officers. Under the terms of the Overarching Framework Agreement, the Officers may be employed by either RBC or BDC, but this does not affect their ability to carry out functions delegated to them under the RBC Constitution.

The specific legislation which underpins these arrangements is set out in the Local Government Act 1972 and the Local Government Act 2000.

Under section 113 of the Local Government Act 2000, a local authority may enter into an agreement with another local authority for the placing at the disposal of the latter authority the services of staff employed by the former authority. Under section 101 of the Local Government Act 2000 a local authority may arrange for the discharge of its functions by any other local authority. This principle is further expanded in sections 19 and 20 of the Local Government Act 2000 and the Local Authorities (Arrangements for the Discharge of Functions) (England) Regulations 2000.

The staffing arrangements for the shared management team have been established under section 113 of the Local Government Act with each authority placing its employees at the disposal of the other. As shared services are introduced across the Council, department by department, a host authority for each department will be identified. Staff will be transferred under TUPE to the host or receiving authority, and will carry out the functions of the delegating authority in accordance with section 101 of the Local Government Act.

3. <u>Other arrangements</u>

The Council has agreed to enter into other arrangements for sharing services with local authorities, regulated by formal agreements. These are summarised below:-

a. Internal Audit Services

The Council has entered into arrangements with Bromsgrove District Council, Malvern Hills District Council, Worcester City Council and Wychavon District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared Internal Audit Service for all the authorities.

The service is hosted by Worcester City Council.

b. Payroll Service

The Council has entered into an arrangement with Bromsgrove District Council and Wyre Forest District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared service for Payroll services across the three authorities.

The service is hosted by Redditch Borough Council.

c. Assets Management Service – Joint Property Vehicle

The Council has entered into an agreement with Worcester City Council, Worcestershire County Council, Hereford and Worcester Fire Authority, Warwickshire Police, West Mercia Police and Herefordshire County Council for management of public sector property. The legal framework for this agreement is that the partners establish a trading company, limited by shares and owned wholly by the partners.

The company and service is due to go live in September 2015.

d. North Worcestershire Economic Development and Regeneration Service

The Council has entered into an arrangement with Bromsgrove District Council and Wyre Forest District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared service for Economic Development and Regeneration across the three authorities.

The service is hosted by Wyre Forest District Council.

e. Building Control Shared Service

The Council has entered into an arrangement with Bromsgrove District Council and Wyre Forest District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared service for Building Control Services across the three authorities.

The service is hosted by Bromsgrove District Council.

f. Land Drainage Shared Service

The Council has entered into an arrangement with Bromsgrove District Council and Wyre Forest District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared service for land drainage service across the three authorities.

The service is hosted by Wyre Forest District Council.

g. North Worcestershire Emergency Planning Shared Service

The Council has entered into an arrangement with Bromsgrove District Council and Wyre Forest District Council for the authorities to collaborate and provide one shared service for Emergency Planning across the three authorities.

The service is hosted by Wyre Forest District Council.